--- title: "Modifying user settings" slug: "modifying-user-settings" description: "How to modify user settings in Remote Access, including disabing user access, resetting MFA, modifying groups, editing user info, resetting a user's password, or deleting users" updated: 2025-07-22T19:23:20Z published: 2025-07-22T19:23:20Z canonical: "docs.neeve.ai/modifying-user-settings" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.neeve.ai/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Modifying user settings This article explains how to modify a user's information, group assignments, and other settings in the Remote Access Portal. ## User profile and actions menu All changes are initiated from the **User Profile** page. To access it: 1. In the Remote Access Portal, navigate to the **Users** page and select the user's name to open their profile. 2. Click the arrow next to the user's name to expand their profile details. 3. You can edit some fields directly on the user profile, while other settings are accessed via the **Actions** menu at the bottom of the section. Continue to the next sections for detailed instructions. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/d6e15bcc-f0ce-492d-a776-6b52d6736bc0/Images/Documentation/ra-actions-menu.png) ## Modify user details To update a user’s name or phone number, use the following steps, which are also explained in the video below. [Embedded content](https://player.vimeo.com/video/1101585310) 1. In the **Actions** section of the **User Profile** page, select the **Edit User Information** icon. 2. In the **Edit User Information** dialog, change the text fields as necessary. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/d6e15bcc-f0ce-492d-a776-6b52d6736bc0/Images/Documentation/edit-user-info.png) 3. Select **Submit**. A confirmation message will appear. ## Modify a user's groups and access To modify a user’s group assignments or access details, see the following steps, which are also explained in the video below. [Embedded content](https://player.vimeo.com/video/1101585330) 1. In the **Actions** section of the **User Profile** page, select the **Configure Access Roles & Schedule** icon. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/d6e15bcc-f0ce-492d-a776-6b52d6736bc0/Images/Documentation/edit-access-icon.png) 2. To remove the user from a group, in the **Access Group** **Associations** field, select the **x** that appears next to the group name. 3. To add the user to a group, place your cursor in the **Access Group** **A****ssociations** field and select the group you’d like to add. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/d6e15bcc-f0ce-492d-a776-6b52d6736bc0/Images/Documentation/edit-groups.png) 4. You can also enable, modify, or disable [**Scheduled Access**](/secureedge-current/docs/scheduled-user-access) from this dialog. 5. Select **Submit** to save your changes. ## Modify multifactor authentication If your company uses [multifactor authentication (MFA)](/secureedge-current/docs/managing-multifactor-authentication-for-your-organization), you can enable, disable, or reset it directly on the user profile. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/d6e15bcc-f0ce-492d-a776-6b52d6736bc0/Images/Documentation/reset-mfa.png) The following video walks through the steps for resetting a user's MFA. [Embedded content](https://player.vimeo.com/video/1101585257) ## Reset a user's password As an Admin, you can reset a user's password by selecting the **Reset Password** icon from the **Actions** menu. This will send a password reset email to the user. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/d6e15bcc-f0ce-492d-a776-6b52d6736bc0/Images/Documentation/reset-password.png) ## Disable a user (temporary) To temporarily disable a user account without permanently deleting their information: 1. Toggle **User Status** from **Enabled** to **Disabled**. 2. A confirmation box appears. Select **Yes - Proceed**. A success message will appear. ![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/d6e15bcc-f0ce-492d-a776-6b52d6736bc0/Images/Documentation/user-disabled.png)To re-enable a user account, toggle the **User Status** from **Disabled** to **Enabled**. ## Delete a user Before you can delete a user account permanently, you have to remove the user from associated groups. Follow the steps in **M**odify a user's groups and access above. To permanently delete a user account, follow the steps below, or see the video below. [Embedded content](https://player.vimeo.com/video/1101585214) 1. In the **Actions** section of the **User Profile** page, select the **Delete User** icon. 2. A confirmation box appears. Select **Delete** to confirm.![](https://cdn.us.document360.io/d6e15bcc-f0ce-492d-a776-6b52d6736bc0/Images/Documentation/delete-user.png)A success message will appear.